West Indies India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India vs West Indies - St Lucia Test Match

June 10-14 2006
St Lucia Cricket Ground

Umpires: Asad Rauf, S J A Taufel
Result: West Indies drew with India

St Lucia Test Start

Heel injury rules out Sreesanth

India have suffered an injury setback two days before the second test against West Indies, starting on Saturday at the Beausejour Stadium.
Sreesanth has been ruled out with a sore heel that team physiotherapist John Gloster indicates the fast bowler will need three to five days to overcome. Sreesanth missed the first two matches of the preceding limited-overs series with a similar injury, but Gloster noted it was not a recurrence of that injury.

St Lucia Test First Day

Sehwag and Dravid take India to 361-4

Virender Sehwag hit a magnificent 180 as India finished day one of the second Test in St Lucia on 361-4. The opener, 27, hit 99 of his runs in the morning session, adding 159 for the first wicket with Wasim Jaffer (43). Had he made three figures, Sehwag would have become the first Indian and only the fifth-ever player to hit a century on the opening morning of a Test.
His finally fell to Pedro Collins, who captured all four India wickets for 75 runs but Rahul Dravid was 95 not out.

St Lucia Test Second Day

Windies totter after India amass 588

Mohammad Kaif ended a long wait for his maiden Test century as India piled on the runs against West Indies on day two of the second Test in St Lucia. Kaif, in his 11th Test, became the third centurion in the innings before India declared at 588-8.
In reply, West Indies were tottering at 65/3 losing Lara (7) Sarwan (0) and Ganga (16).

St Lucia Test Third Day

India eye victory at St Lucia

West Indies are staring defeat in the face after being forced to follow on by India during the third day of the second Test. Brian Lara's men were dismissed for 215 in their first innings, 373 behind India's formidable first innings effort of 588-8 declared, and then reached 43-1 by the close after visiting captain Rahul Dravid asked them to bat again. Fast bowler Munaf Patel (3-51) and spin duo Anil Kumble (3-57) and Virender Sehwag (3-33) all picked up three wickets.

St Lucia Test Fourth Day

Rain arrives to rescue West Indies

Overnight and early morning showers have delayed the start of play on the fourth day in the second Test between West Indies and India on Tuesday at the Beausejour Cricket Ground.
West Indies, following on 373 runs behind on first innings, were to continue from their bedtime total of 43 for one with opener Daren Ganga not out on 24, alongside captain and batting superstar Brian Lara not out on 15. Replying to India's first innings total of 588 for eight declared, West Indies had been dismissed for 215 about 10 minutes past the scheduled tea break on Monday's third day.

St Lucia Test Fifth Day

Brian Lara helps Windies to draw

A century from Brian Lara helped the West Indies to bat out the final day and secure a draw in the second Test against India in St Lucia.
The captain made 120 as the home side finished the match on 293-7 in their second innings, still 80 runs adrift of India's mammoth first-innings score of 588-8 declared. Resuming on 43-1, the home side's hopes of batting out the day were hit with a double blow early on as Daren Ganga and Ramnaresh Sarwan both departed with just ten added to the overnight total. Lara completed a patient hundred soon after and he added a further 71 with Dwayne Bravo to put the game out of reach before eventually falling to Virender Sehwag lbw.
Bravo made 47 from 123 balls before he lost his wicket, inside-edging onto his pad and Yuvraj Singh made a smart catch at backward short-leg. Denesh Ramdin (17 not out), Ian Bradshaw (1) and Jerome Taylor (0 not out) then safely negotiated the final overs to secure the draw for the West Indies and leave the four-Test series still tied at 0-0. The third of four Tests starts in St Kitts on 22 June.


India won the toss and decided to bat
588 for 8 (148.2 overs)
215 all out (85.1 overs)
294 for 7 (119.0 overs)

India 1st Innings
W Jaffer c D J Bravo b P T Collins
92 4 0
V Sehwag c and b P T Collins
190 20 2
V V S Laxman c D Ramdin b P T Collins
10 0 0
R Dravid c B C Lara b R R Sarwan
243 17 0
Yuvraj Singh
b P T Collins
16 0 0
M Kaif not out
243 12 0
M S Dhoni c D Ganga b I D R Bradshaw
35 0 0
I K Pathan c D Ganga b C H Gayle
52 2 0
A Kumble
b J E Taylor
31 1 0
12nb 4w 4b 7lb 27
for 8 588

P T Collins 28.0 5 116 4
J E Taylor 24.2 4 88 1
D J Bravo 10.0 0 66 0
C D Collymore 21.0 1 92 0
I D R Bradshaw 26.0 6 80 1
R R Sarwan 18.0 1 83 1
C H Gayle 21.0 6 52 1
Fall of wicket
159 W Jaffer
161 V V S Laxman
300 V Sehwag
306 Yuvraj Singh
485 R Dravid
517 M S Dhoni
555 I K Pathan
588 A Kumble

West Indies 1st Innings
C H Gayle c M S Dhoni b A Kumble
106 7 1
D Ganga lbw b M M Patel
33 3 0
R R Sarwan lbw b M M Patel
1 0 0
B C Lara lbw b A Kumble
14 1 0
S Chanderpaul lbw b I K Pathan
79 3 0
D J Bravo c R Dravid b A Kumble
84 3 0
D Ramdin c M S Dhoni b M M Patel
83 4 0
I D R Bradshaw c and b V Sehwag
59 2 0
J E Taylor c M Kaif b V Sehwag
36 2 1
P T Collins c R Dravid b V Sehwag
5 0 0
C D Collymore not out
18 0 0
9nb 5b 2lb 16
all out 215

I K Pathan 11.0 2 43 1
M M Patel 17.0 4 51 3
A Kumble 30.0 12 57 3
V R V Singh 10.0 3 23 0
V Sehwag 16.1 5 33 3
Yuvraj Singh 1.0 0 1 0
Fall of wicket
36 D Ganga
36 R R Sarwan
55 B C Lara
106 C H Gayle
106 S Chanderpaul
167 D J Bravo
178 D Ramdin
209 J E Taylor
210 P T Collins
215 I D R Bradshaw

West Indies 2nd Innings
C H Gayle c M S Dhoni b I K Pathan
3 0 0
D Ganga
b A Kumble
66 3 0
B C Lara lbw b V Sehwag
307 10 0
R R Sarwan c M S Dhoni b M M Patel
10 0 0
S Chanderpaul c I K Pathan b A Kumble
113 6 0
D J Bravo c Yuvraj Singh b A Kumble
123 3 1
D Ramdin not out
64 2 0
I D R Bradshaw lbw b M M Patel
38 0 0
J E Taylor not out
3 0 0
14nb 5lb 5pen 24
for 7 294

I K Pathan 15.0 1 50 1
M M Patel 21.0 7 49 2
V R V Singh 11.0 0 39 0
A Kumble 42.0 11 98 3
V Sehwag 30.0 9 48 1
Fall of wicket
2 C H Gayle
51 D Ganga
52 R R Sarwan
181 S Chanderpaul
252 B C Lara
277 D J Bravo
291 I D R Bradshaw

Umpires: Asad Rauf, S J A Taufel
West Indies: C H Gayle, D Ganga, R R Sarwan, B C Lara, S Chanderpaul, D J Bravo, D Ramdin, I D R Bradshaw, P T Collins, J E Taylor, C D Collymore
India: W Jaffer, V Sehwag, R Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, V V S Laxman, M Kaif, M S Dhoni, I K Pathan, A Kumble, M M Patel, V R V Singh

Indian Team for St Lucia Test

W Jaffer, V Sehwag, R Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, V V S Laxman, M Kaif, M S Dhoni, I K Pathan, A Kumble, M M Patel, V R V Singh

West Indies Team for St Lucia Test

C H Gayle, D Ganga, R R Sarwan, B C Lara, S Chanderpaul, D J Bravo, D Ramdin, I D R Bradshaw, P T Collins, J E Taylor, C D Collymore

The Venue

St Lucia

Situated on the outskirts of the tourist resort area of Rodney Bay on the island's north-east coast, the ground is set in the rolling hills of Beau-se-jour and it passed every test that had been set for the hosting of an international cricket match.
Constructed on 22 acres of land, the stadium has a seating capacity of 15,000 and is highlighted by all the modern conveniences. It includes stands with bucket-type seating, 18 hospitality suites and a well-appointed pavilion that offers each team its own gym, lounge, balcony and conference room.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.