West Indies India Cricket News


latest cricket

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

India vs Pakistan FINAL

Sunday 18 June 17 @ The Oval
Match scheduled to begin at 10:30 local time (09:30 GMT)


ODI Series

India in West Indies 2009

4th ODI washed out, India win series (IND 2:1|4)

MS Dhoni's team won the fifth consecutive ODI series since the defeat in the Asia Cup final at the hands of Sri Lanka last year. Dhoni won the fourth straight toss in the morning and asked West Indies to bat for the second time in the series, and West Indies suffered an early set back as Ishant Sharma removed Chris Gayle in the very first over for a duck. The hosts who went into the game 2-1 down in the best-of-four contest saw their hopes destroyed by the weather.
When the home side was on 27 for one after 7.3 overs a heavy downpour saw the contest called off.MS Dhoni is the Man of the Series.
Fourth ODI, St Lucia: West Indies 27/1 (Ishant 1-17) vs India - Match abandoned

India win 3rd ODI by six wickets to lead series (IND 2:1|4)

India won the third ODI with West Indies on Friday in a rain-shortened encounter at St Lucia by six wickets. Rain delayed the start and interrupted play no fewer than four times leading the umpires to shorten the innings and revise the target couple of times. Dhoni won the third straight toss in the morning and asked West Indies to bat for the first time in the series. Ramnaresh Sarwan, with 62 off 59, top-scored as the hosts made 186-7 from 27 overs.Set 159 to win from 22 overs, openers Dinesh Karthik (47) and Gautam Gambhir (44) added 84 for the first wicket. Then, skipper Mahendra Dhoni (46 not out off 34 balls) saw India home with one ball remaining.
Third ODI, St Lucia: India 159/4 (Karthik 47, Dhoni 46*, Gambhir 44) beat West Indies 185/7 (Sarwan 62, Nehra 3-21) by six wickets (D/L method)

West Indies thrash India in Kingston, level series (IND 1:1|4)

West Indies beat India by eight wickets in the second cricket international at Sabina Park. Chasing 189 to win, Chris Gayle (64) and Renako Morton (85) shared 101 as West Indies won with 15.5 overs to spare. India won the toss in the morning and batted but they were reduced to 7-3 and 82-8, before Mahendra Singh Dhoni hit a patient 95 and shared a record 101-run ninth wicket parternership with RP Singh, who made 23 off 75 balls, to help India score a modest 188 all out in 48.2 overs.
Ravi Rampaul had career-best figures of 4 for 37 and Denesh Ramdin took five catches.The third one-day international will be played in St Lucia on Friday.
Second ODI, Kingston, Jamaica: West Indies 192/2 (Morton 85*, Gayle 62) beat India 188/8 (Dhoni 95, Rampaul 4-37, Taylor 3-35, Bravo 3-26) by eight wickets

India win high-scoring thriller in Kingston (IND 1:0|4)

A 131 in 102 balls with 10 fours and 7 sixes from Yuvraj Singh helped India amass 339 for six in Jamaica on Friday in their first of a four-match series of one-dayers, but the determined hosts ran them close to be bowled out for 319 in the 49th over. India's total was the second highest one-day international score at Sabina Park. Chris Gayle (37) and Runako Morton (42) put on 65 inside 10 overs for the opening stand before Ramnaresh Sarwan (45) and an aggressive Shivnarine Chanderpaul (63) kept West Indies up with the run-rate. They needed 25 to win off the last three overs with two wickets remaining but Rudra Pratap Singh bowled Sulieman Benn for seven in the 48th over, and then wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin, who had kept the score ticking with a smart 29 off 26 balls, was caught by Harbhajan Singh off Ashish Nehra's first ball of the 49th over. Earlier, deciding to bat first, India lost Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma cheaply, but Karthik (67) and Yuvraj set them on their way to the big total. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (41 of 46 balls), Yusuf Pathan (40 not out off 38) and Harbhajan Singh (21 not out off 13) chipped in with useful contributions.
First ODI, Kingston, Jamaica: India 339/6 (Yuvraj 131, Karthik 67) beat West Indies 319 (Chanderpaul 63, Ashish Nehra 3-49, Yusuf Pathan 3-56) by 20 runs

India seek redemption in the Caribbeans

India will meet West Indies in the first game of their four-match ODI series at Kingston, Jamaica on Friday.
India is looking to restore pride after a horrendous performance at the Twenty20 World Cup in England, where they crashed out after losing to West Indies and then England. It was, in fact, India's seven-wicket loss to the West Indies in the first Super Eights game that started their losing streak in England.
Apart from restoring pride, this is India's opportunity to leapfrog Australia, and target chart-toppers South Africa in the ODI rankings. A four-nil victory will take the team, now placed third, to the lead.
West Indies Squad (from): Gayle (Captain), Ramdin, Baker, Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Benn, Bernard Jr, Chanderpaul, Deonarine, Morton, Rampaul, Sarwan, Taylor.
India Squad (from): MS Dhoni (Captain), Yuvraj, Gambhir, Rohit, Harbhajan, Ojha, Yusuf, Vijay, Badrinath, RP Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant, Nayar, Nehra, Jadeja, Karthik.

Tendulkar and Zaheer rested for West Indies tour, Irfan axed!

BCCI Secretary N Srinivasan announced a depleted Indian squad for the one-day tour of West Indies starting later this month, just days after the holders were knocked out of the Twenty20 World Cup.
The squad will be captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni with Yuvraj Singh as his deputy. The team was selected in London after a teleconference between Chairman of the committee Krishnamachari Srikkanth, East Zone selector Raja Venkat, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and coach Gary Kirsten (in London) and three selectors — Yashpal Sharma, Surendhra Bhave and Narendra Hirwani - in Mumbai. While Sachin Tendulkar opted out, Zaheer Khan, Virender Sehwag and Suresh Raina are out because of injuries, while Munaf Patel and Irfan Pathan were dropped for unknown reasons. Delhi left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra (who has played 72 ODI matches, taking 92 wickets) is back in the team after a long gap of four years - his last match was in in September 2005, while 25-year-old Mumbai all rounder Abhishek Nayar, RP Singh, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, Tamil Nadu opener Murali Vijay (who has played one Test against Australia) and middle order batsman Subramaniam Badrinath (who has played three one-day internationals against Sri Lanka) also found place in the squad based on their superb performance in the IPL.
The four matches against West Indies will be played from June 26 to July 5 in Jamaica and St. Lucia. India Team for West Indies: MS Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Yuvraj Singh (vicecaptain), Gautam Gambhir (specialist opener), Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, M Vijay (specialist opener), S Badrinath, RP Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik.

Indian Tour of West Indies, 2009

After the completion of 2nd edition twenty20 World Cup in England, Indian team will tour Caribbean for four match ODI series against the West Indies. India will play their first one day international on 26th June 2009. And the rest of three one day internationals will be played on 28th June, 3rd July and 5th July 2009. Probable venues included in the schedule.
Schedule Match Venue
Fri 26 Jun
10:30 EDT/14:30 GMT/15:30 BST/20:00 IST
1st ODI – India v West Indies Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica
Sun 28 Jun
10:30 EDT/14:30 GMT/15:30 BST/20:00 IST
2nd ODI – India v West Indies Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica
Fri 3 July
09:30 EDT/13:30 GMT/14:30 BST/19:00 IST
3rd ODI – India v West Indies Beausejour Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia
Sun 5 July
09:30 EDT/13:30 GMT/14:30 BST/19:00 IST
4th ODI – India v West Indies Beausejour Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia

India in West Indies 2009

2009 tour itinerary

Fixtures

June
Mon 22nd India Arrive Jamaica
Tues 23rd Rest/Practice
Wed 24th Rest/Practice
Thurs 25th Rest/Practice
Fri 26th 1st ODI - Kingston, Jamaica
Sat 27th Rest/Practice
Sun 28th 2nd ODI - Kingston, Jamaica
Mon 29th TRAVEL TO St Lucia
Tues 30th Rest/Practice July
Wed 1st Rest/Practice
Thu 2nd Rest/Practice
Fri 3rd 3rd ODI - Gros Islet, St Lucia
Sat 4th Rest/Practice
Sun 5th 4th ODI - Gros Islet, St Lucia
Mon 6th India Departs

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.